Silver Flash Stakes 2023 Betting Tips - LeoVegas Sports

Silver Flash Stakes 2023 Betting Tips

The Silver Flash Stakes is a Group 3 flat race that’s only open to two-year old thoroughbred fillies.

It’s run every year in July at Leopardstown over a distance of 7 furlongs. The winner will ‘walk away’ with a prize of 29,500 Euros.

Silver Flash Stakes 2023 Racecard

  • Lady Craftsman (Ire)
  • Mysteries (Ire)
  • Nemonte (Ire)
  • Rush Queen (Ire)
  • Vespertilio (FR)
  • Ylang Ylang (GB)


Silver Flash Stakes 2023 favourite: Ylang Ylang

  • Jockey: Unknown
  • Trainer: Aiden O’Brien

It’s hard to argue with a price of around 8/13 on favourite Ylang Ylang. The first positive is that she’s trained by Aiden O’Brien (who also has Brilliant and Pearls and Rubies in the race) and we know what an outstanding record the great Irish trainer has in the race with those 12 wins already in this very contest.

The second positive is that she’s run in the last 35 days which we also know is an important factor. And what a run that was, on her debut, going off as the odds-on favourite but more than justifying that price of 8/13 to beat the other 11 in the race at the Curragh, including the impressive runner-up Dollerina. She showed great speed and stamina down the stretch and was just too good on the day.

We also know that favourites tend to win this race as the history books show, not to mention that the last few big Irish races have gone to the favourite with Savethelastdance just the latest when winning the Irish Oaks last weekend. So, she really is the one to beat.


One horse to consider: Mysteries

  • Jockey: G M Ryan
  • Trainer: Donnacha O’Brien

The greatest challenger to the favourite may be this one at around 6/1. Trained by Aiden’s son Donnacha, who we know has also had a winner here in the past, she’s raced twice, finishing 3/9 back in May and then going one better at Cork, winning as the favourite.

She showed plenty of fight in both races down the last few yards and could show plenty of speed here, especially if the going is Good on the day. The fact that she won in her last race leading up to this one is also a big positive, as noted in our race trends above.


Race changes over the years

The race has gone through quite a few transformations on several fronts. The first is that it used to be held at Phoenix Park before the decision was made for it to be staged at Leopardstown instead, since 1991.

The timing of it has also changed; first it was in early September, then in 1991 it was switched to late October but ever since 1999, it’s been in July. Originally a seven-furlong race, it was briefly shortened to six furlongs in 1993 but it’s gone back to its original distance of seven since 2007, also being ‘promoted’ to a Group 3 race ever since 2008.

Because only two-year olds can take part, there have (obviously) been no repeat winners of the race among the horses themselves.

Horses who have previously won Group 2 races have to carry a 5lbs penalty, while those who have won Group 3 races need to carry 3lbs.

But there are still some interesting trends to note even though there haven’t been repeat winners.

In terms of betting odds, this is very much a race for the favourites. Six of the past 12 winners were the jollies at the off, with 7/12 being in the Top 3 in the betting.

But there have been a couple of notable exceptions, with 2021 winner Agartha going off at 16/1, Shale at 14/1 the year before and Love at 8/1 back in 2019.

But last year’s winner Never Ending Story was well-fancied, justifying a price of 5/6 favourite in victory.
Since 2011, the performance of the horse in their last race leading up to this one is a huge clue with 9/12 winners having won in their previous race.

Experience of having run at Leopardstown before is also a big plus with 7/12 winners having run at Leopardstown at least once before and 3/12 winners having actually won there before.

But a lengthy absence from action is a big negative with 11/12 winners since 2001 having raced at least once in the 35 days leading up to the race.

Notable records by trainers and jockeys at Silver Flash Stakes

Only two jockeys have achieved the feat of winning this race four times.

Michael Kinane managed it, first doing so on The Caretaker in 1989 and then riding the last of those four winners on Maroochydore in 2003.

The other was Kevin Manning, first achieving the feat in 1994 on Eva Luna and following it up with wins in 1999, 2002 and 2005.

As for horse racing trainers with strong records, it’s a huge advantage if your name is O’Brien!

The great Aiden ‘O’Brien has won it 12 times including with last year’s winner Never Ending Story, with Ryan Moore on board. Given his first winner in the race was way back in 1997 and you can see who’s been the really dominant trainer in this race for the last two decades and a half in this contest.

His son Joseph O’Brien won it in 2021 with Agartha, while the previous year it was his other son (!) Donnacha, who trained eventual winner Shale.