Darley Munster Oaks Stakes Tips 2023 - Racecard & Odds | LeoVegas

Darley Munster Oaks Stakes 2023 Tips

Run over 1m 4f at Cork on Saturday at 18:35. It is open to thoroughbred fillies and mares aged three or older.

Darley Munster Oaks Stakes 2023 Prizes

  • Total prize money: £60,000.
  • First Prize: £36,000.
  • Second Prize: £11,999.
  • Third Prize: £3,000.

Keep reading for a detailed analysis and our Darley Munster Oaks Stakes betting tips.

Past winners, trainers and jockeys

Grace O’Malley, the 2009 and 2010 winner is the only repeat winner in 20 editions of the race being run. She was trained by Dermot Weld.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the most successful trainer in the race’s history is Aidan O’Brien with six wins: Ice Queen (2008), Venus de Milo (2014), Words (2015), Pretty Perfect (2016), Flattering (2018) and Snow (2020) meaning that between 2014 and 2020, he won it in five years out of seven.

Kevin Manning and Pat Smullen are the only jockeys to have won it three times.

Darley Munster Oaks Stakes Odds at which last three winners won

  • 2020: Snow (Ireland) @ 3.75 (11/4)
  • 2021: Thunder Kiss @ 4.0 (3/1)
  • 2022: Rosscarbery @ 3.75 (11/4)

Previous winners in action

Last year’s winner Rosscarbery is in the field again this year.

Billy Lee rode Rosscarbery to victory last year and will have the same mount again this time round. He also won aboard Santa Monica in 2017, meaning he’s looking to join the elite group of jockeys to have won this race on three occasions.

Colin Keane, who won in 2019 and 2021 will be on Cairde Go Deo, while Seamie Hefferman (winner in 2015 and 2018) will be aboard Lambada.

Lambada, by the way, is trained by Aidan O’Brien, who also has Library in the Race.


Darley Munster Oaks Stakes

betting odds at LeoVegas

The odds on this race will be available nearer the time here at LeoVegas, though customers can choose to place their bets now at the (eventual) Starting Price.

Remember that LeoVegas has the best odds, meaning that if you back the winner at any time after 10am on the day of the race and it wins, you’ll get paid out at either: the odds at which you backed the horse, or the Starting Price, whichever of the two ends up being bigger.


Darley Munster Oaks Stakes 2023 Racecard

  • Rosscarbery

  • Final Gesture

  • Azazat

  • Lambada

  • Cairde Go Deo

  • Library

  • Annerville

  • Thunder Roll

    Darley Munster Oaks Stakes 2023 Tips

Betting tip #1: Rosscarbery (GER)

Trainer: P. Twomey

Jockey: Bily Lee.

As we’ve seen already, winning this race twice is easier said than done with only Grace O’Malley managing it back in 2009 and 2010.

But Rosscarberry is more than capable of adding her name to that select list. When she won last year, she was completing a four-timer. The last time she was in action was in October 2022 when she finished a very creditable fifth in a Group 1 race at Ascot in the Fillies and Mares Stakes behind eventual winner Emily Upjohn, at the same distance as this is being run.

So, she’s been off the course for eight months now but that certainly shouldn’t stop her being the one to beat.

She’s expected to go off at around the 3.5 (5/2) mark as favourite and as we’ve seen already, this is a race that has been won by one of the jollies the last three years. rather than the outsiders. She’ll be carrying the most weight but she’s good enough to defy it.


Betting tip #1: Final Gesture (IRE)

Jockey: RP Whelan

Trainer: P Twowey

If Rosscarbery doesn’t nail this, maybe stablemate Final Gesture will.

P Twowey’s other entry in this race has his stable in excellent form and after a 159-day break since racing last November, she stormed to victory when winning an 11-runner listed race at Gowran by five lengths from Joupe, as a 4/1 shot.

That was 44 days ago, she’ll be better for that ride and is the one that Rosscarbery should fear most.

Darley Munster Oaks Stakes History

The race was first run back in 2003 at Naas and it was originally called the Noblesse Stakes after champion Irish-trained filly Noblesse, the chestnut-coloured horse whose wins included the Epsom Oaks (1963) and the Timeform Gold Cup (1962).

It was classed as Listed Level to begin with and restricted to three-year olds. In 2004 it was promoted to Group 3 status and opened to older fillies and mares before being transferred over to Cork a year later (2005) and renamed the Munster Oaks in 2014.