Roll of Honour - European Football Championships


The European Football Championship, often referred to as the Euros, is a premier international soccer competition held among European nations. Organized by UEFA, the championship occurs every four years, featuring top national teams competing for continental glory.

Below is the roll of honor for the European Football Championship, from the first edition in 1960 to the last one in 2020, played, however, in 2021:




  • 1960: Soviet Union
  • 1964: Spain
  • 1968: Italy
  • 1972: West Germany
  • 1976: Czechoslovakia
  • 1980: West Germany
  • 1984: France
  • 1988: Holland
  • 1992: Denmark
  • 1996: Germany
  • 2000: France
  • 2004: Greece
  • 2008: Spain
  • 2012: Spain
  • 2016: Portugal
  • 2020: Italy

Which team has won the most European Championships in soccer?

Two nations have won the European Championships the most times: Germany and Spain with 3 triumphs each.

However, the Germans won the 1972 and 1980 editions as West Germany and the 1996 edition as Germany. Spain, on the other hand, won the 1964, 2008 and 2012 editions.

Who won the last European soccer championships?

The last European Football Championships were scheduled for 2020 but, due to pandemic, were played in the summer of 2021, and were won by Roberto Mancini's Italy.

How many European Championships has Italy won?

Italy has won the European Championships twice. The first success was in 1968, when Italy hosted the European Championship at home, a tournament that still had only four teams for the final stage.

The Azzurri defeated the Soviet Union in the semifinals after a coin toss (penalties were not yet provided), while then defeating Yugoslavia in the replay of the final 2-0, after the first match two days earlier had ended 1-1.

Italy then returned to win in 2021, the first touring European Championship.

Roberto Mancini's Azzurri did not start among the top-ranked teams for the final victory, but they then managed to beat England at Wembley after penalty kicks.

How many European Championships has England won?

England won the world title in 1966, but has never won the European Championship.

The best result for the English national team at the European Championships is the final played at home in 2021, but lost on penalties to Italy.

How many European Championships has France won?

France has won the European Championships twice in history.

The first was in the edition hosted at home in 1984, when a sensational Michel Platini with 9 goals in 5 games dragged the French Gaullets to their first major success with the national team.

The encore came in 2000, when France defeated Dino Zoff's Italy 2-1 at the at the European Championship in Belgium and the Netherlands during the extra time in the final thanks to David Trezeguet's golden goal.

How many European Championships has Croatia won?

Croatia reached the World Cup final in 2018, losing it to France, and at the last World Cup in Qatar in 2022 it still reached the semifinals.

At the European Championships, on the other hand-with Croatia's first participation coming in 1996, and they have never achieved any major results.

How many European Championships has Portugal won?

Portugal hosted the final stage of the European Championships in 2004, but lost the final to Greece.

The Lusitanians made up for it in 2016 in France, when they defeated the hosts 1-0 in extra time to win the European Championship.

How many European Championships has Germany won?

Germany has won the European Championship three times. In 1972 and 1980 as West Germany, and in 1996 as a united country.

How many European Championships has Spain won?

Spain, like Germany, has won the European Championship three times (1964, 2008 and 2012).